Skip to main content

Mission City Film Festival

SAPL’s Mission City Film Festival has been created to encourage development in the art of film making by local talent and it is its mission to showcase and promote the artistic filmmaking made by emerging and established filmmakers of San Antonio.

Additional Screenings

Tough Nissi
Inspiring story of Nissi Salazar, a young woman with cerebral palsy, who dared to challenge norms and expectations and compete in the rigorous Tough Mudder race.

The Fade Away
In rural Texas, young Elise faces a terrible tragedy after acquiring extraordinary abilities....20 years later she is forced to confront it.

When a punk band is stiffed their pay from a bar owner, the band's bassist kidnaps the bar owner and a series of disastrous events lead to deadly consequences.

Get to Know the Bird
This film documents a day in the life of Cold War era pilot John Russell and how aviation has influenced his outlook on life.

A Place Where Gods are Made
A science fiction love story as told by extraterrestrial historians that takes place during the apocalypse of Dec 21, 2012 AD.

Saturday May 5, 2018
2:30 PM - 5:00 PM
Parman Library
20735 Wilderness Oak
San Antonio, TX 78258


Waiting for the Storm

A family's peaceful evening takes a horrifying turn when three men in masks and hoods break into their house and take them hostage. When they offer the home invaders to take anything they want, one of them reveals the true reason their house was chosen.

Saturday May 26, 2018
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Central Library Auditorium
600 Soledad St.
San Antonio, TX 78205



Best Overall Film
Aver – Felicia Villarreal

Best Documentary
Splitting – Eric Hunter

Best Feature Film
Waiting for the Storm – Rogelio Salinas

Best Super Short Film
The Box Boy – Jesse Salazar III

Best Library Film

History of the San Antonio Lie-berry – Nickalus Jones

Best Short Film
Distance – Jesse Bennett

Official Selections
Consumed – Angie Baggett
The Weeping Woman – Cynthia Bergen
Aaron Longoria – heaven vol. i
Hunter Hudson – Dime
Tough Nissi – Ben Toalson
A Place Where Gods are Born – Taylor Johnson
UNPAID – Jesse Salazar III
Muted – Marco Zaragoza
Love, Charlotte – Johnny Luna
The Fade Away – Robert Moore
BlueInk – Jade Jess & Miranda Potter
Cheetopocalypse – Cody Lovorn
I Am Not Broken – Hampton Rose
A Word with an Artist – Matthew Gongora
Little Figures – Vincent Quaranto