Skip to main content

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage

This is a time to recognize the contributions of Hispanic Americans to the United States and to celebrate Hispanic heritage and culture.

Subject Guide

Emma Hernandez's picture
Emma Hernandez
Contact:
600 Soledad St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
210.207.2519
Website

Links to the Library

El Dicho de la Semana

Lo cortés no quita lo valiente.

Politeness costs nothing.

Access

Books in the Latino Collection are listed in Millennium OPAC, the library's on-line catalog. Most call numbers for books in the Latino Collection are available in the library's circulating collections.

If you are interested in checking out a book from the Latino Collection, please check the on-line catalog or ask a library staff member to find out if there is a circulating copy available elsewhere in the San Antonio Public Library System.

Latino News & Information

Loading ...

Welcome to the Latino Collection!

The Latino Collection is a cultural and education resource which chronicles and celebrates the literature, heritage, and contemporary life of Latinos in the United States. While Mexican-American experience is the focus of the collection, some materials reflect the experience of Latino peoples across the United States. The collection consists primarily of monographs written in English and Spanish.

Featured Author: Celia Cruz

     Celia Cruz

Dios Disfrute A La Reina God Enjoy The Queen Read more: https://www.hispanic-culture-online.com/celia-cruz-biography.html#ixzz2VXegevI3 Under Creative Commons License: Attribution

Celia Cruz known as the ‘La Reina de la Salsa” and “La Guarachera de Cub”, Cruz’ is considered a musical legend, a woman who helped popularize and energize Latin music. Throughout the life of Celia Cruz, the word “azúcar” would become synonymous with the performer and a symbol of the energy and sabor, Spanish for flavor, that Cruz injected into all of her performances.  Music lovers across the world embraced her style and her love of the classic Cuban “son”, the root of most Latin music, including mambo and salsa.  

She made more than 76 recordswinning multiple Grammys and Latin Grammys. She also appeared in several movies, including 1992′s “The Mambo Kings” and earned a star on Hollywood’s Walk of Fame in 1989.  Celia Cruz also collected honorary degrees from Yale, the University of Miami and Florida International University and was awarded the American National Medal of the Arts in 1994 by the National Endowment of the Arts in Washington D.C.

Retrieved from https://hispanic-culture-online.com/celia-cruz-biography.html

SAPL Collection: Celia Cruz

Donations

Help us fill the shelves! Customers are welcome to donate books to the Latino Collection. Financial contributions for purchasing materials for the Latino Collection are also welcome. Such contributions may be made to the San Antonio Public Library Foundation or directly to the San Antonio Public Library. Please indicate in your correspondence that the donation is intended for the Latino Collection.

San Antonio Public Library Foundation
625 Shook
San Antonio, TX 78212
Tel: (210) 225–4728 · Fax: (210) 444–1950
information@saplf.org

San Antonio Public Library
600 Soledad St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
Tel: (210) 207-2500