LibGuides: The Latino Collection: Latino Organizations

Links to the Library

Ask a Librarian
Ask questions, report problems, or just send comments and suggestions.
SAPL on Facebook
SAPL on Twitter
SAPL on YouTube

Welcome to the Latino Collection!

The Latino Collection is a cultural and education resource which chronicles and celebrates the literature, heritage, and contemporary life of Latinos in the United States. While Mexican-American experience is the focus of the collection, some materials reflect the experience of Latino peoples across the United States. The collection consists primarily of monographs written in English and Spanish.

Web Sites of Interest

Guadalupe Cultural Arts Center
The Guadalupe Cultural Arts Center cultivates, promotes and preserves traditional and contemporary Latino arts and culture through multidisciplinary programming.
more...less...
Retrieved from: http://www.guadalupeculturalarts.org/

The following web sites provide information about the many community services (General, Business Consumer Information) provided in Texas, San Antonio and nearby communities.

League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC)
LULAC is the largest and oldest Hispanic Organization in the United States. LULAC advances the economic condition, educational attainment, political influence, health and civil rights of Hispanic Americans through community-based programs.
more...less...
Retrieved from: http://lulac.org/index.html
National Council of La Raza (NCLR)
The largest national Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the United States, working to improve opportunities for Hispanic Americans.
more...less...
Retrieved from: http://www.nclr.org/
Hispanic Association on Corporate Responsibility (HACR)
National advocacy organization representing 13 Hispanic organization in the United States and Puerto Rico, focusing on four areas: employment, procurement, philanthropy and governance.
more...less...
Retrieved from: http://www.hacr.org/
Texas Association of Mexican-American Chambers of Commerce (TAMACC)
A private non-profit corporation founded 33 years ago by a small group of Hispanic business persons interested in increasing business opportunities; providing advocacy, technical support, programs, and services to the network of local Hispanic chambers.
more...less...
Retrieved from: http://www.tamacc.org/
San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
Welcome to the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. We are proud to be the longest serving Hispanic Chamber of Commerce in the United States. Additionally, we are San Antonio’s first Accredited Chamber of Commerce and the nation’s first Accredited Hispanic Chamber. In short, we are San Antonio’s leading resource and advocate for Hispanic businesses and Hispanics in business.
more...less...
Retrieved from: http://www.sahcc.org/
Centro Cultural Aztlán
Centro Cultural Aztlan was founded in 1977 by a group of young community organizers active in the Chicano movement and eager to extend its message of pride and empowerment. Their vision was to preserve and build upon the long tradition of Chicano/Latino culture by creating programs that would involve local artists and increase public awareness of their work.
more...less...
Retrieved from: http://www.centroculturalaztlan.50megs.com/

Donations

Help us fill the shelves! Customers are welcome to donate books to the Latino Collection. Financial contributions for purchasing materials for the Latino Collection are also welcome. Such contributions may be made to the San Antonio Public Library Foundation or directly to the San Antonio Public Library. Please indicate in your correspondence that the donation is intended for the Latino Collection.

San Antonio Public Library Foundation
625 Shook
San Antonio, TX 78212
Tel: (210) 225–4728 · Fax: (210) 444–1950
information@saplf.org

San Antonio Public Library
600 Soledad St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
Tel: (210) 207-2500