Interested in learning more about local women and hear their inspiring stories? Not sure where to start your search? Here are a few helpful resources to get you started:
La Prensa Texas Newspaper Archives
Established in 1913, La Prensa Texas is a historic, independently-owned English and Spanish newspaper and online publication. We cover various aspects of local community news in San Antonio. La Prensa is the first and oldest English and Spanish publication in the state of Texas. La Prensa Texas continues to be compassionate towards our beloved community, demonstrating its ability to deliver hyperlocal news to include sports coverage and live polls that keep our diverse community informed. La Prensa Texas’ community involvement provides an arena that promotes and encourages communication and interaction, is a platform that is most reliable, accessible, tangible, and affordable when deciding on how to get the word out. We are here for businesses, entrepreneurs, government, education, and the community.
San Antonio Public Library Texana/Genealogy
Since 1995, the Texana/Genealogy Department has been located on the 6th floor of the Central Library at 600 Soledad Street downtown. Currently, the Texana Resource Center and the entire 6th floor of Central Library is undergoing a substantial renovation and will be closed to the public for the duration of the project.
Texana/Genealogy services are now available on the first floor of Central Library across from the main circulation desk during regular library business hours. Texana services are not available on Mondays.
Staff have organized a “limited” selection of special collections that are available to researchers through the interim first floor location. During this time, researchers will have access to a variety of essential resources that includes the following: local newspapers on microfilm, current Texana/Genealogy periodical subscriptions, San Antonio City Directories, San Antonio subject clipping files, maps, and a carefully curated selection of Texana/Genealogy books and archival collections. Public computers for accessing research databases such as Ancestry Library Edition are available with convenient access to experienced staff. Also, equipment for reading and scanning microforms (microfilm/microfiche) are available.
Texas State Historical Association
The Handbook of Texas is a digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) that is free and accessible on the Internet for students, teachers, scholars, and the general public. The Handbook consists of overview, general, and biographical entries focused on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the state’s diverse population and the Modern Age.
UTSA Libraries Special Collections
Discover our nationally recognized, unique research materials documenting the diverse histories and development of San Antonio and South Texas.
Women in Texas History
Women in Texas History (WITH) is a project of the Ruthe Winegarten Memorial Foundation for Texas Women's History. The foundation was formed in 2006, and our website is dedicated to the memory of Ruthe Winegarten, writer, historian, activist, and persistent advocate for the study of Texas women's history.
