Their mission is to increase the independence, security, equality of opportunity, and quality of life for all blind and visually impaired people. The site includes sections on what resources are available for the blind.
The American Glaucoma Society (AGS) is comprised of Glaucoma Specialists dedicated to sharing clinical and scientific information for the benefit of patients, colleagues, fellows and residents. The site gives information on finding a doctor, educational handouts and information about the latest research.
Books at Your Library About Vision and Eye Diseases
This resource provides access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health periodicals, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 300 periodicals. Also included in this database is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets; 135 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society; and more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). In addition, Health Source - Consumer Edition includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. This full text database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985. Log in with your library card number and name.
This database links over 14,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. The database is designed to help answer the following typical questions:
What are the chemical ingredients and their percentage in specific brands? Which products contain specific chemical ingredients? Who manufactures a specific brand? How do I contact this manufacturer? What are the acute and chronic effects of chemical ingredients in a specific brand? What other information is available about chemicals in the toxicology-related databases of the National Library of Medicine?
MedlinePlus has information from the National Institutes of Health and other sources on over 700 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary and health information in Spanish.
The Natural & Alternative Treatments database was originally created in 1997 to satisfy an ever-growing demand for accurate, unbiased information on natural health. Subsequently, the database has been expanded, refined and updated. It currently consists of over 550 articles as follows: 219 on Herbs and Supplements, 185 on Conditions, 100 on Drug Interaction, 29 on Alternative Therapies and 33 on Homeopathy. These articles are entirely based on double-blind, placebo-controlled studies and other forms of meaningful scientific evidence. At present, more than 12,000 such studies are cited in the material, and new studies are added as they appear. This evidence-based content has been developed and reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists with the goal of providing reliable information without exaggeration or misrepresentation. Login with your library card number and name.
Addiction Group is an informational web guide that was founded in 2019. The website was created to help those struggling with alcohol use disorders (AUD), substance use disorders (SUD), and/or co-occurring mental health disorders find treatment for their addiction.
Alcohol Rehab Help is an informational web guide founded in 2020. The site was created to help those struggling with alcohol use disorders (AUD), substance use disorders (SUD), and/or co-occurring mental health disorders. We help individuals understand their addictions and find the best treatment option based on their unique situation and individual needs.
This resource discusses the importance of health literacy and explains how learning to read food labels can lead to a better understanding of nutrition and positive health choices. It also breaks down different aspects of a food label, such as serving size, ingredients, calories, and more.
Best Colleges has published a review of the best online masters in public health programs available in the US. Also included are valuable resources and guides for students such as financial aid information that students can use to help finance their education.
This guide takes a look at vaccinations and immunizations and also includes information on how professionals in public health and other fields can leverage their expertise to help fight the spread of disease.
Helpful information here: includes information on the warning sides of suicide, situations that might cause someone to consider suicide, and what to do if someone you know is talking about ending their life.
ConsumerSafety.org's goal is to make information about recalls and safety-related news about drugs, medical devices, food, and consumer products accessible to everyone in a transparent, easily understandable way.
This websites mission is to educate consumers about the side effects and risks of popular drugs and medical devices. They have a team of researchers and experts to provide the user with information to help make better health care decisions.
A website which serves as a resource guide on emergency assistance, warning signs and prevention of suicide in college students. The website offers a very useful guide to the warning signs and risks of suicide and a list of helpful organizations.
Healthline is maintained by a group of medical informatics specialists. The site allows you to search using key words but also offers 4 other ways to search: 1. Search by symptom 2. Search by treatment 3. Serach for a Doctor 4. Search for a Drug. The site also offers online videos that can be viewed on subjects such as "How the Heart Works".
Students at all levels are facing serious health problemsces due to lack of proper nutrition and inadequate exercise. This guide aims to change that. From tips for staying healthy to resources that can help, students can find a wealth of information in these pages – information that might lead them to a much healthier, happier lifestyle.
Manage your health with information and tools that reflect the expertise of Mayo's 3,400 physicians and scientists, learn how to access medical services, and discover Mayo's medical research and education offerings.
This helpful website offers information on types of Mesothelioma and treatments. The site also offers information on financial and legal assistance. There is a blog which provides current news and information.
The Mesothelioma Cancer Alliance is a website and resource for individuals diagnosed with mesothelioma and their families. Their mission is to continually provide relevant, timely, and factual information about asbestos exposure and its links to mesothelioma cancer. The site provided information on doctors, the latest news, clinical trials, and legal assistance.
This website is for patients, family members, or friends of those diagnosed with Mesothelioma. This site will help guide you through every step of the diagnostic and treatment process. The Mesothelioma Group is a small team of healthcare professionals, patient advocates, and communication specialists.
The purpose of this site is to guide patients toward answers, care options, and free health solutions that improve their lives. This site will help to find basic information about mesothelioma, treatment options, and locating specialists.
This website discusses the different types of dentistry- such as orthodontics and pediatric dentistry. The site also includes information on common dental treatments and procedures. The information is provided by scholarly articles, dentistry textbooks and organizations such as The American Dental Association.
This website deals with online Master of Public Health Programs. The site is designed to answer such questions as: Is the MPH program CEPH accredited? What is the accreditation? and What is the length of this online MPH program?
PatientsLikeMe is an online community of patients, doctors, and organizations whose goal is to inspire, inform and empower individuals. This website provides patients with access to the tools, information, and experiences that they need to take control of their disease.
This website is a resource dedicated to researching educational opportunities within public health to help make the decision to get your degree, go back to get your degree, or further your education with a master's or doctoral degree in public health.The site includes a section on online programs.
A recent study found that finances are ranked as the second largest stressor among college students. More than one-third of the respondents report that finances are traumatic or very difficult to handle. This guide is designed to help those dealing with the issues that may result from overwhelming debt, including: stress, anxiety, and depression.
Mental health is a growing concern on today’s college campuses. Learn about the various mental health challenges facing college students, the support and counseling resources available to them, and practical measures and coping strategies to help students overcome behavioral, emotional, and psychological obstacles.
This guide is designed to help those who are suffering or have suffered from depression, suicidal thoughts or suicide attempts. It is also designed for concerned friends and family members who might be worried that someone they love will experience death by suicide. It is also intended for students, so that they might spot the warning signs of suicide in others – or in themselves – and find the proper resources.
This website is managed by Better Addiction Care- a network of treatment centers. The site offers the opportunity to speak to a trained counselor. The site also provides information about warning signs and risk factors as well as prevention information.
U.S. News and World Report magazine's annual list of America's best hospitals. 152 hospitals are ranked in one or more of 16 specialties. There is also a separate list of the best children's hospitals.
This website is operated by Command Education: an education and admissions consultancy. The site offers sections dealing with anxiety, depression, and eating disorders. There are also lists of resources.
WebMD provides award-winning expertise in medicine, journalism, health communication and content creation to bring you the best health information possible. WebMD offers credible and in-depth medical news, features, and reference material.
This website is another good source for up-to date health information. Current information on most common medical topics such as allergies,depression,and diabetes. Articles written by health experts can be found here as can a "symptom checker" and a "doctor finder".