Courtesy of the Texas State Library TexShare database collection, the library now offers the Job & Career Accelerator (from the same company that provides Learning Express Library). JCA is a one-stop destination for creating a resume, finding job and internship opportunities, assessing career alternatives and mastering interviewing skills. They even have interactive videos for learning popular software (Word, Excel, Project, Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator y más) and internet and computer basics.
JobNow provides you with practical tools to help you get a job. Featuring Resume Lab, a Resume Builder provides the resources you need to craft a winning resume and an Interview Coach service that provides resources to help you prepare for your interview.
Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want.
Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.
Interviewing Skills and Tips
Need help acing that interview? Here you can search our library catalog, check out our databases, and even take a look at our favorite resources - all in one place.
Now fully revised and updated for the 2016 job hunt-the must-have guide to acing the interview and landing the dream job, from "America's top career expert" (The Los Angeles Times) 60 Seconds & You're Hired!has already helped thousands of job seekers get their dream jobs by excelling in crucial interviews. America's top job search expert Robin Ryan draws on her 20 years as a career counselor, 30 years of direct hiring, and extensive contact with hundreds of recruiters, decisions makers, and HR professionals to teach you proven strategies to help you take charge of the interview process and get the job you want. Brief, compact, and packed with insightful direction to give you the cutting edge to slip past the competition,60 Seconds & You're Hired! is here to help you succeed! This newly revised editionfeatures- .Unique techniques like "The 60 Second Sell" and "The 5-Point Agenda" .Over 125 answers to tough, tricky interview questions employers often ask .How to handle structured or behavioral interview questions .Questions you should always ask, and questions you should never ask .How to deal effectively with any salary questions to preserve your negotiating power .20 interview pitfalls to avoid .Proven negotiation techniques that secure higher salaries - and much more! "Robin Ryan has the inside track on how to get hired." -ABC News
Jam-packed with seasoned insights and solid job interview advice for people with not-so-hot backgrounds, this book examines: - What employers really want and look for in great candidates- Major red flags that consistently derail thousands of job seekers- Ways to identify your red flags and transform them into green lights- 101 questions asked at most job interviews by subject category- Key nonverbal behaviors, from dress and handshakes to eye contact- Great ways to impress interviewers with compelling examples and stories- 35 common interview errors you must never commit- Best ways to address 10 red flags that come up during many interviews- Expert follow up and salary negotiation techniques that work wonders- Key resources -- from books to blogs - that keep you focused on the prize- Ways to scrub and repair online red flags and reputation issues Filled with interview strategies, examples, stories, quizzes, questions, sample Q&A dialogues, and advice, this is the perfect interview book for anyone with a spotted background who is also highly motivated to move ahead with their career.
Are you preparing for an upcoming interview? Are you nervous about making a good impression or want to practise for difficult questions? From the bestselling Ultimate series, Ultimate Interview will give you all the guidance you need when preparing to ace the interview for your dream job. Renowned careers expert, Lynn Williams, will give you the edge on: understanding your interviewer and what they are looking for, highlighting the evidence that you are the perfect candidate through skills and industry knowledge, standing out from the competition, answering questions professionally, navigating the beginning of the interview, coping with difficult questions, dealing with off-the-wall questions, looking the part and knowing how to behave in telephone, video, panel and assessment centre interviews. Ultimate Interview, now in its 5th edition, is a must-have for all serious job-seekers. It contains 100s of sample interview questions, with answer examples, tailored by industry experts to give you a personalized resource. It covers jobs in management, sales and marketing, administration, customer relations, technical industries, practical industries and creative industries. About the series: The Ultimate series contains practical advice on essential job search skills to give you the best chance of getting the job you want. Taking you all the way from starting your job search to completing an interview, it includes guidance on CV or résumé and cover letter writing, practice questions for passing aptitude, psychometric and other employment tests, and reliable advice for interviewing.