With HelpNow, expert tutors and a powerful suite of services to accommodate virtually any need are just a click away. One-on-One Homework Help, State-Aligned Skills Building and a 24-Hour Writing Lab are all available through the HelpNow service.
Updated to conform to today's academic standards and the most recent Internet research sources, this succinct, easy-to-follow guide gives students clear directions for writing papers in virtually all academic subjects.
The authors describe how to determine a subject, formulate and outline a provisional thesis, prepare a bibliography, take notes from sources, write a draft, then revise and edit the paper, bringing it to its final form. Added advice includes avoiding plagiarism and making the most of library and Internet resources.
Reviews basic grammar, including parts of speech, sentence structure, and subject-verb agreement; provides a manual of usage, instruction on writing paragraphs and research papers, and how to develop one's own style; and includes exercises and a test.
Roy Peter Clark's grammar book aims to do something that none of your high school or college grammar books did -- to make grammar fun. Clark's humorous writing and popular literature examples, like J.K. Rowling and Don Delillo, supports his case that grammar is still important to those who want to write well.
For a quick reference, Clark also ends each chapter with a list of "keepsakes for readers".
A guide to grammar, plus a pronouncation guide, rules for email and how to cite online content.
Intended for anyone who writes, edits, or prepares material for distribution or publication. For over fifty years this manual has been recognized as the best style manual for business professionals and for students who want to master the on-the-job standards of business professionals.
The Modern Language Association (MLA), the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified.
Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
6th edition. Also known as the APA, use this guide for psychology or social science papers.
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: 808.027 CHICAGO 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
For more than a century, The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for writers and editors. This seventeenth edition has been updated to help the user find, create, and cite information. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. The citation chapters help with both paper and digital resources. The chapter on grammar and usage includes a glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. The bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Web Sites of Interest
Take a look at these online sites that will help you improve your style.
This site includes resources on in-text citation and the References (works cited) page, as well as sample papers, slide presentations, and the classroom posters for the APA, MLA and Chicago style guides.