Skip to Main Content

Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It has been awarded annually since 1922 to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Links to Related Sites

The Newbery Medal is administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) a division of the American Library Association (ALA). 

2021 Newbery Medal Winner and Honor Books

On January 25, 2021, the Newbery Award Committee named one Medal Winner and five Honor Books.  A complete listing of all Newbery Medal Winners and Honor Books can be found at the Newbery Medal Website.