LibGuides: Jobs and Small Business Services: JSBC

JSBC

Covid Relief for Businesses and Employees

COSA Covid Resources for Small Businesses and Employees
This page includes information related to employers and employees affected by COVID-19 and resources they can find in San Antonio and beyond.
Bexar County Strong
Bexar County is currently distributing financial assistance to qualified county residents through the Coronavirus Relief Fund (CRF). These federal relief dollars are designated for those directly impacted by the pandemic.

If you have lost your job or are having trouble paying for rent or utilities because of COVID-19, you may qualify to receive financial help and/or job training or employment assistance. In addition, there is a link for small business resources.
Texas Workforce: Covid 19 Resources for Job Seekers
Updated information from Texas Workforce on Unemployment and other benefits related to Covid-19 assistance
Federal Resources for Small Businesses: Covid Resource Page
Welcome to the official federal resource website for U.S. small businesses affected by COVID-19 (Coronavirus). You can view relevant federal agency resources, access the latest news, and search for a Small Business Advisor near you.

Tuned In Podcast - About the JSBC

Helpful Links

Jobs and Careers Resource Guide
Resources to help you land a job or find a new career.
Business Resource Guide
A guide to business resources at SAPL and beyond.

Job & Career Accelerator This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Texas State Library TexShare database collection, the library now offers the Job & Career Accelerator (from the same company that provides Learning Express Library). JCA is a one-stop destination for creating a resume, finding job and internship opportunities, assessing career alternatives and mastering interviewing skills. They even have interactive videos for learning popular software (Word, Excel, Project, Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator y más) and internet and computer basics.

Brainfuse: Job Now
JobNow provides you with practical tools to help you get a job. Featuring Resume Lab, a Resume Builder provides the resources you need to craft a winning resume and an Interview Coach service that provides resources to help you prepare for your interview.

LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want.

Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.

Job Documents

JSBC Welcome Mission and Procedures
Quick Resume Worksheet
Sample Word Resume
Sample Adobe Resume
How to Apply - City of San Antonio
Find a Job in San Antonio
Job Seeker Helpful Websites
Spanish English Computer Terms
Helping a Spanish Speaker look for work? Use this handout to help you translate computer terms and online navigation
How to Write A Resume and Market Your Skills

New Business & Investing @ SAPL

SCORE

SCORE is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to helping people start a business.

SCORE counselors are business professionals that are ready to advise you on your path to success.

You can create a free account and register online (email and phone number required).

JSBC Survey

Have you found a job or started a business using the Jobs and Small Business Center? Do you have suggestions to improve our services? We want to hear about it! Take a moment to complete our survey.

Jobs and Small Business Center Information

The Jobs and Small Business Center on the 5th floor of the Central Library is dedicated to helping our patrons as they search for a job or perform library database business research. Our online resources are available 24/7 with your San Antonio Public Library card.

Please be aware that Central Library is currently under construction above the first floor. If you need assistance with a resume during your session, please bring a friend to help in our Connect area. For more information, please see this link: https://guides.mysapl.org/covid-19/how-to

Please check our homepage www.mysapl.org for updates. You can also reach our JSBC Reference Team with remote help by clicking on Ask-A-Librarian or it's Virtual Chat on M-F 10-6 PM.

We wish you well - and have provided a new LibGuide to help customers with Unemployment during this challenging time. We are here for you.

Local Agencies

Workforce Development Office

The City of San Antonio provides 4 programs with it's partners: SA: Ready to Work, Train for Jobs SA, AlamoPROMISE, and Project Quest. These 4 programs provide excellent educational and workforce training opportunities for you. Learn about the programs at each link on this main page.

Goodwill San Antonio: Goodwill Career Centers
Are you looking for a new career or need immediate assistance in finding a job? Goodwill San Antonio is here to help you achieve your goal.
Workforce Solutions
Workforce Solutions offers job listings as well as career development tools. They have Alamo Career Centers to assist you in person. Call 210-272-3260 for more information.
Community Adult Education Classes
Col. Victor J. Ferrari Community Learning Center provides GED and adult education classes (like Training for Job Success). Please call 210.356.7550 for more information.
TWC - Vocational Rehabilitation
The TWC Vocational Rehabilitation Program provides services for adults & youth with disablities. They help them prepare for, obtain, retain or advance in employment.
National Veteran's Outreach and Job Services
The NVOP provides several different programs for employment assistance, including assistance for unemployed Veterans, non-Veterans, and the homeless community. Please see the link for individual program details.

Job Websites

Did you know that only a tiny fraction of jobs are listed in the paper? Use these helpful sites to expand your job search into the online world.

City of San Antonio Human Resources
Interested in working for the City of San Antonio? Search for jobs, learn about benefits, and apply online for positions.
FTC Consumer Protection - Job Scams
If you’re looking for a job, you may see ads for firms that promise results. Many of these firms may be legitimate and helpful, but others may misrepresent their services, promote out-dated or fictitious job offerings, or charge high fees in advance for services that may not lead to a job.
Indeed
A comprehensive search engine for jobs posted online, Indeed allows you to refine your job hunt by keyword, location, and the date the job was posted.
Learn How to Become: Grad's Guide to Getting Hired
A website that focuses on helping graduates transition into their new careers. Job Searching, Networking, Counselor Advice, and Career Resources are all available.
Monster Job Search
Monster is one of the largest job websites, covering both job seeker and employer information. Job seekers can post resumes and search for positions in San Antonio and beyond.
mySA Jobs
This San Antonio Express News classified link will allow you to search by job keywords and also has career tools to help you target potential employers.
O-Net Online Search
Sometimes the hardest part of applying is finding the right words. O-Net allows you to look up a job on DOT (Dictionary of Occupational Titles) and just like a dictionary find the definition, requirements, skills, and abilities used in each occupation. ONet also has a search for Military Occupational Classifications. The Occupational Outlook handbook search tells you what education and background you need for each occupation.

Use these tools not only to search for jobs more effectively, but also to help you write your work experience on your resume or cover letter.
Snagajob
Frustrated by all the job hunting websites looking for salaried workers? Try searching the largest website for hourly part-time and full-time jobs.
USA Jobs
USAJOBS is the Federal Government's official one-stop source for Federal jobs and employment information. A great resource for military jobs, this site also has special sections for students, veterans, and disabled job seekers.
Texas Workforce Commission
The primary governmental job training and job search program for the State of Texas. Find labor market and career information for any profession. Apply for unemployment benefits. Branch offices in San Antonio can assist you with your job search.

How to Write A Resume

Food Handler Training

Need to take the Food Handler Training?

https://www.dshs.texas.gov/food-handlers/training/online.aspx

If your employer has requested you take the training at a specific website,

please let library staff know so that we can help you get to the website.

We can also help you with questions about printing and printing costs.

Opportunities for Youth

Alamo Worksource Youth Services
Need a boost entering the workforce? Alamo Worksource has career information & tests, job opportunities, scholarship information, and more.
San Antonio Transition Center
Specializing in helping former and current foster care youth entering school or the job market. San Antonio Transition Center helps provide career assessment, job searches and referrals, and a variety of community assistance.
Volunteer Match
One of the best ways to start working is to volunteer, which gives you the opportunity to help organizations and build your experience. Find an organization that meets your skills and interests.

Temporary Job Opportunities- COVID-19

The COVID-19 crisis has led to several local temporary job opportunities for you to consider.Please follow the links below for more information.

7-11
Allied Universal
"Unarmed Emergency Response Team". Allied Universal needs candidates that have open availability and are able to travel as needed.
Amazon Warehouse- San Marcos
Amazon has increased temporary opportunities at the San Marcos warehouse to handle heightened demand for online orders.
COSTCO Jobs
COSTCO has a need for additional stocking and register staff at local stores.
CVS Jobs
CVS has accelerated hiring currently
Domino's Pizza Jobs
Domino's is hiring extra
HEB- Short Term Opportunities
HEB is offering additional opportunities to help with remote shopping, check out, and overnight stocking during the crisis.
Pizza Hut Jobs
Pizza Hut is still open and still hiring.
Target
Target currently has more than 60 job openings at a variety of positions in the area.
Walmart
Walmart currently has more than 70 jobs in the area.

Job Hunting Video

This helpful video from Better Business Learning covers researching your desired business to improve your chances, tips on updating your online profile, preparing for an job interview using the STAR method, and the interview itself. If you don't have headphones, you can always click on the cc for the closed caption version of the video on Youtube.

Meet Your Local Employers

Business Leader Profile Videos
The Business Leader Profile Videos include personal interviews with greatly respected business leaders, founders of major companies, and exceptional managers and CEOs that are based here in San Antonio. The video interviews, running about 15 minutes each, are shown prominently on the City’s Business website, Government Access Channel and the City’s YouTube webpage. Each interviewee answers a series of questions about themselves, their leadership style and the companies they manage or established in the City of San Antonio.