Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Full-text coverage of over 300 titles that cover topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
After the death of his longtime partner, a British college professor in Los Angeles struggles to find meaning in his life. As he dwells in the past, he begins to contemplate suicide. A series of events and encounters will lead him to question if there really is a meaning to his life after all.
Four years after Chris and Annie Nielsen lose their children in a traffic accident, Chris himself is killed and finds himself reunited with his children in a beautiful and astonishing afterlife, but Annie commits suicide in despair and is banished to a very different realm. Chris risks his own eternal happiness to find Annie and rescue her from her fate.
Death magazine isn't simply reports of human mortality, but perspectives on how death arranges, enhances or obfuscates life - at times metaphorically, at times not. In a bed, on the train, at a computer, at the mall; we all have daily relationships with it. Alongside every overlooked gesture, death is the shadow reality reminding us, "this isn't going to last forever."
Local & National Obituaries
Welcome to Death & Dying
Death & Dying
Death is a subject ignored and shunned by some people.
Yet we cannot avoid it and we cannot escape it. It is the ONLY thing in life that is certain & one day we will meet face to face with it. We are inching our way closer to it everyday of our lives. Given its omnipresence, we should do our best to understand it.
This publication of the Texas Folklore Society examines the lore of death and whatever happens afterward. The first chapter examines places where people are buried, either permanently or temporarily. Chapter Two features articles about how people die and the rituals associated with funerals and burials. The third chapter explores some of the stranger stories about what happens after we're gone, and the last chapter offers some philosophical musings about death in general, as well as our connection to those who have gone before.
Call Number: 306.90976 DEATH
Graceful Exits: How Great Beings Die : Death Stories of Hindu, Tibetan Buddhist, and Zen Masters by Sushila BlackmanDeath is a subject obscured by fear and denial. When we do think of dying, we are more often concerned with how to avoid the pain and suffering that may accompany our death than we are with really confronting the meaning of death and how to approach it. Sushila Blackman places death--and life--in a truer perspective, by telling us of others who have left this world with dignity. Graceful Exits offers valuable guidance in the form of 108 stories recounting the ways in which Hindu, Tibetan Buddhist, and Zen masters, both ancient and modern, have confronted their own deaths. By directly presenting the grace, clarity, and even humor with which great spiritual teachers have met the end of their days, Blackman provides inspiration and nourishment to anyone truly concerned with the fundamental issues of life and death.
On Death and Dying by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross; Ira Byock (Foreword by)Fifty years after its original publication, a commemorative edition with a new introduction and updated resources section of Dr. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross's beloved, groundbreaking classic on the five stages of grief. One of the most important psychological studies of the late twentieth century, On Death and Dying grew out of Dr. Kübler-Ross's famous interdisciplinary seminar on death, life, and transition. In this remarkable book, Dr. Kübler-Ross first explored the now-famous five stages of death: denial and isolation, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Through sample interviews and conversations, she gives readers a better understanding of how imminent death affects the patient, the professionals who serve that patient, and the patient's family, bringing hope to all who are involved. This edition includes an elegant, enlightening introduction by Dr. Ira Byock, a prominent palliative care physician and the author of Dying Well, as well as Congressional testimony given by Dr. Kübler-Ross on death with dignity.
Talking About Death Won't Kill You is the essential handbook to help navigate personal and medical decisions for the best quality of life for the end of our lives. Noted palliative-care educator and researcher Kathy Kortes-Miller shows readers how to identify and reframe limiting beliefs about dying with humor and compassion.
As a 41-year-old man confronts his own mortality in this collection's title story, he recalls his Spokane Indian father's chilling death from alcoholism and diabetes. Another tale features an eccentric salesman pursuing a married woman from airport to airport. And then there's the film editor who sees nothing wrong with altering footage to fit preconceived views--until he becomes the target of media distortion.
Chopra turns to the most profound mystery: what happens after we die? Is this one question we were not meant to answer, a riddle whose solution the universe keeps to itself? Chopra tells us there is abundant evidence that "the world beyond" is not separated from this world by an impassable wall; in fact, a single reality embraces all worlds, all times and places. At the end of our lives we "cross over" into a new phase of the same soul journey we are on right this minute.
Utilizing some of today's most popular science as well as a plethora of religious writings, Dinesh D'Souza presents what he believes to be evidence in the existence of an afterlife. Disproving atheism's criticism of morality, D'Souza reveals why listeners should live in hope of the future.
Collects 250 examples of the thousands of condolence letters written to Jacqueline Kennedy following the assassination of her husband, President John F. Kennedy, in the first book to examine this extraordinary array of heartfelt correspondence.
In this intensely personal, deeply moving account, the author exposes the layers and facets of her life over a year of dramatic and unexpected events. Her daughter's serious illness and her husband's sudden death "cut loose any fixed idea I had about death, about illness, about probability and luck ... about marriage and children and memory ... about the shallowness of sanity, about life itself."
With electronic books, your public library is open 24/7! The San Antonio Public Library offers ways to access ebooks through NetLibrary for free with your San Antonio Public Library Card.
How Not to Die Alone by Richard RoperAndrew's day-to-day is a little grim, searching for next of kin for those who die alone. Thankfully, he has a loving family waiting for him when he gets home, to help wash the day's cares away. At least, that's what his coworkers believe. Andrew didn't mean for the misunderstanding to happen, yet he's become trapped in his own white lie. The fantasy of his wife and two kids has become a pleasant escape from his lonely one bedroom with only his Ella Fitzgerald records for company. But when new employee Peggy breezes into his life like a breath of fresh air, Andrew is shaken out of his routine. She doesn't notice the wall he's been safely hiding behind and their friendship promises to break it down. Andrew must choose: Does he tell the truth and start really living his life, but risk losing his friendship with Peggy? Or will he stay safe and alone, behind the façade? How Not to Die Alone is about the importance of taking a chance in those moments when we have the most to lose. Sharp and funny, warm and real, it's the kind of big-hearted story we all need.