LibGuides: Disability Pride Month: Home

Home

Librarian

Disability Pride Month

Community Resources

1. AACOG Intellectual & Developmental Disability Services: Part of their mission is to ensure people with developmental and intellectual disabilities who live in Bexar County receive necessary quality services. Their core values include individual worth, quality, integrity, dedication, innovation, teamwork, education, and family.

AACOG Intellectual & Developmental Disability Services: 2700 NE Loop 410 Suite 101 San Antonio, Texas 78217 210-832-5020

2. The Arc of San Antonio: The Arc of San Antonio was founded in 1954 by parents who believed their children with IDD deserved more- to be included in their communities and to pursue fulfillment and happiness like everyone else. Since then, The Arc has evolved with the changing needs and issues people with disabilities and their families face.

The Arc of San Antonio: 13430 West Ave, San Antonio, Texas 78216 210-490-4300

3. Autism Community Network: Autism Community Network is a nonprofit organization that provides autism screenings, diagnostics, therapies, and advocacy for neurodiverse children and families in South Texas.

Autism Community Network: 535 Bandera Rd., San Antonio, Texas 78228 210-435-1000

4. Center on Independent Living: The Center on independent Living (COIL) assists the elderly and people with disabilities of all kinds achieve their freedom and independence and helps them thrive in the community.

Center on Independent Living: 10500 Nacogdoches Rd, San Antonio, Texas 78217 210-655-2333

5. disABILITYsa: The mission of disABILITYsa is to educate, advance, and engage individuals with disabilities by building connections, exchanging information, creating opportunities and strengthening our disability community in the greater San Antonio area.

disABILITYsa: 5727 W I-10, San Antonio, Texas 78201 210-704-7262

6. Disability Services of the Southwest: Founded in 1993, Disability Services of the Southwest (DSSW) is one of the largest providers of support services to people with disabilities and the elderly in the state of Texas. Their services include personal attendant services, nursing and therapies, as well as assistance in home modification, adaptive aids, job coaching and supported employment.

Disability Services of the Southwest: 6243 I-10 Suite 114, San Antonio, Texas 78201 210-798-0123

7. Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities: The Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities is dedicated to ensuring that all Texans with developmental disabilities have the opportunity to be independent, productive and valued members of their communities.

Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities: 6201 E Oltorf St # 600, Austin, Texas 78741 512-437-5432

8. Vibrant Works: previously known as SA Lighthouse for the Blind aims to empower people who are blind and vision impaired, by providing help with employment, rehabilitation, and training for independent living.

Vibrant Works 2305 Roosevelt Ave, San Antonio, Texas 78210 210-533-5195

State and Federal Services

1. Bookshare: Bookshare is an online library of accessible e-books and educational materials for people with print disabilities.. Access more than 325,000 textbooks, best sellers, children's books, newspapers, magazines, and more. 1-650-352-0198

2. The Texas Talking Book Program: The Texas Talking Book Program is a free service for anyone residing in the state. There are thousands of titles in several formats to offer accessibility to various resources. Formats include: audio recordings, large print, Braille, and more. 1-800-252-9605

Useful Websites

American Association of People With Disabilities (AAPD)
The American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD) is a convener, connector, and catalyst for change, increasing the political and economic power of people with disabilities.
American Chronic Pain Association
The website of the American Chronic Pain Association- the site offers up to date information on pain management, locating support groups in your area, and available treatments.
Best Colleges: College Guide for Students With Disabilities
Prospective college students with disabilities will find that many campuses are equipped with offices and services that address accessibility, accommodation, and assistive technology for a diverse range of needs.
Student services offices and disability coordinators at many colleges work to make campuses inclusive environments through specialized advocacy, support, and academic services.
College Consensus: Navigating College With Visual Impairments
This site provides information on what the rights of students with disabilities are.The site also provides the name of organizations that will assist disabled students. Also provided is a list of note taking resources and assistive technology.
Disability Horizons
This site covers a wide spectrum of content for people with disabilities. They cover topics like culture, employment, relationships, and travel in addition to news and politics. They’re a one-stop shop for disabled lifestyle content.
Disability Scoop
This website is a good place to start for developmental disability content. The site reporst news and events that involve a person with disabilities. They also include commentary on when the entertainment world pushes the envelope with representation on television or movies.
Disabled World
Disabled-World.com is an independent Health and Disability news source that offers subject areas covering seniors and disability news, assistive device reviews, and articles on everything from helpful tips to disability sports articles. the site has sections on accessible travel, assistive technology, and up to date medical news.
Disabled World
Disabled-World.com is an independent Health and Disability news source that offers subject areas covering seniors and disability news, assistive device reviews, and articles on everything from helpful tips to disability sports articles.
Epilepsy Foundation
The Epilepsy Foundation, also Epilepsy Foundation of America, is a non-profit national foundation, headquartered in Landover, Maryland, Also provides link to state and local chapters.
Indivisible Disabilities
This organization'sr mission is to encourage, educate and connect people and organizations touched by illness, pain and disability around the World. They see a world where people living with illness, pain and disability will be Invisible The website includes sections on awareness of invisible disabilities and living with an invisible disability.
National Fibromyalgia Association
The website of the National Fibromyalgia Association- the website's mission is to help people with fibromyalgia and spread awareness about the life altering effects of this stigmatized and often discounted illness. The site includes up to date news and information and a link to their magazine FM Aware.
Neurodiversity In The Workplace
This site provides an overview of the benefits and challenges of a neurodiverse workforce, as well as guidance on supporting neurodiverse employees.
Neurodiversity can often refer to people that experience dyslexia, autism, dyspraxia, ADHD, and other similar neurological conditions. They are known as “spectrum” conditions that cover a wide range of different characteristics. However, they do share similarities in terms of how people with these conditions learn and process different kinds of information.
Partners For Youth With Disabilities
Empowering young people with disabilities to reach their full potential. News and resources for children, teens, and young adults with disabilities.

Inspirational Stories About People With Disabilities

A Beautiful Mind by Sylvia Nasar
Call Number: 510.92 NASH BIOGRAPHY
The powerful, dramatic biography of math genius John Nash, who overcame serious mental illness and schizophrenia to win the Nobel Prize. "How could you, a mathematician, believe that extraterrestrials were sending you messages?" the visitor from Harvard asked the West Virginian with the movie-star looks and Olympian manner. "Because the ideas I had about supernatural beings came to me the same way my mathematical ideas did," came the answer. "So I took them seriously." Thus begins the true story of John Nash, the mathematical genius who was a legend by age thirty when he slipped into madness, and who--thanks to the selflessness of a beautiful woman and the loyalty of the mathematics community--emerged after decades of ghostlike existence to win a Nobel Prize for triggering the game theory revolution. The inspiration for an Academy Award-winning movie, Sylvia Nasar's now-classic biography is a drama about the mystery of the human mind, triumph over adversity, and the healing power of love.
Disability Visibility by Alice Wong (Editor)
Call Number: 305.908 DISABILITY
A groundbreaking collection of first-person writing on the joys and challenges of the modern disability experience- Disability Visibility brings together the voices of activists, authors, lawyers, politicians, artists, and everyday people whose daily lives are, in the words of playwright Neil Marcus, "an art . . . an ingenious way to live." A Vintage Books Original. ONE OF THE PROGRESSIVE'S BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent-but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Now, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled people. From Harriet McBryde Johnson's account of her debate with Peter Singer over her own personhood to original pieces by authors like Keah Brown and Haben Girma; from blog posts, manifestos, and eulogies to Congressional testimonies, and beyond- this anthology gives a glimpse into the rich complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and the past with hope and love.
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by Jean-Dominique Bauby
Call Number: 362.19681 BAUBY BIOGRAPHY
In December 1995, Jean-Dominique Bauby, the 43-year-old editor of French Elle, suffered a massive stroke that left him permanently paralyzed, a victim of locked in syndrome. Once known for his gregariousness and wit, Bauby now finds himself imprisoned in an inert body, able to communicate only by blinking his left eye. The miracle is that in doing so he was able to compose this stunningly eloquent memoir. In a voice that is by turns wistful and mischievous, angry and sardonic, Bauby gives us a celebration of the liberating power of consciousness: what it is like to spend a day with his children, to imagine lying in bed beside his wife, to conjure up the flavor of delectable meals even as he is fed through at tube. Most of all, this triumphant book lets us witness an indomitable spirit and share in the pure joy of its own survival.
Franklin Delano Roosevelt by Alan Brinkley
Call Number: 973.917 ROOSEVELT BIOGRAPHY
"No president since the founders has done more to shape the character of American government," notes Alan Brinkley in this magnificent biography of America's thirty-second president. "And no president since Lincoln has served through darker or more difficult times. Roosevelt thrived in crisis.It brought out his greatness, and his guile. It triggered his almost uncanny ability to communicate effectively with people of all kinds. And at times, it helped him excoriate his enemies, and to revel in doing so."This brilliant, compact biography chronicles Franklin Delano Roosevelt's rise from a childhood of privilege to a presidency that forever changed the face of international diplomacy, the American party system, and the government's role in global and domestic policy. Brinkley, the National BookAward-winning New Deal historian, provides a clear, concise introduction to Roosevelt's sphinx-like character and remarkable achievements. In a vivid narrative packed with telling anecdotes, the book moves swiftly from Roosevelt's youth in upstate New York - characterized by an aristocraticlifestyle of trips to Europe and private tutoring - to his schooling at Harvard, his brief law career, and his initial entry into politics. From there, Brinkley chronicles Roosevelt's rise to the presidency, a position in which FDR remained until death, through an unparalleled three-plus terms inoffice. Throughout the book, Brinkley elegantly blends FDR's personal life with his professional one, providing a lens into the President's struggles with polio and his somewhat distant relationship with the first lady.Franklin Delano Roosevelt led the United States through the worst economic crisis in the nation's history and through the greatest and most terrible war ever recorded. His extraordinary legacy remains alive in our own troubled new century as a reminder of what bravery and strong leadership canaccomplish.
A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Future by Michael J. Fox
Call Number: 791.43028 FOX
This volume by the author of the bestselling "Always Looking Up" inspires and motivates readers to work hard, achieve the most they can, and maximize their abilities.
Life Without Limits by Nick Vujicic
Call Number: 248.86 VUJICIC
Born without arms or legs, Nick Vujicic overcame his disabilities to live an independent, rich, fulfilling, and "ridiculously good" life while serving as a role model for anyone seeking true happiness. Now an internationally successful motivational speaker, Nick eagerly spreads his message: the most important goal is to find your life's purpose and to never give up, despite whatever difficulties or seemingly impossible odds stand in your way. Nick tells the story of his physical disabilities and the emotional battle he endured while learning to deal with them as a child, teen, and young adult. "For the longest, loneliest time, I wondered if there was anyone on earth like me, and whether there was any purpose to my life other than pain and humiliation." Nick shares how his faith in God has been his major source of strength, and he explains that once he found a sense of purpose--inspiring others to better their lives and the world around them--he found the confidence to build a rewarding and productive life without limits. Let Nick inspire you to start living your own life without limits. Nick offers practical advice for realizing a life of fulfillment and happiness by building trust in others, developing supportive relationships, and gaining strength for the journey. He encourages the reader by showing how he learned to accept what he could not control and focus instead on what he could. Includes a Life Without Limits Personal Action Plan to help anyone determine their unique path to a successful life.
Look Me in the Eye by John Elder Robison
Call Number: 362.19685 ROBISON BIOGRAPHY
Look Me in the Eye is the moving, darkly funny story of growing up with Aspergers at a time when the diagnosis simply didnt exist. A born storyteller, Robison takes readers inside the head of a boy who teachers and other adults regarded as defective. Its a strange, sly, indelible account; sometimes alien yet always deeply human.
The Music of Silence by Andrea Bocelli
Call Number: 782.42164 BOCELLI BIOGRAPHY
In this honest and engaging memoir, translated from the Italian, Bocelli talks as never before about his blindness, his early life, the importance of his family, stage fright, and the pressures of international stardom. Andrea Bocelli cannot remember a time when he was not passionate about music. Born among the vineyards and olive groves of Tuscany, Bocelli was only a few months old when his beautiful blue eyes began to fail due to glaucoma. "He suffered much, and it was difficult to calm him," his mother, Edi, explains. It was the music filtering into his room that would soothe the unsettled child. She says, "It seemed to be the reason for Andrea's tranquillity. I was happy because I had discovered something that gave him some relief from his pain." Bocelli's parents nurtured and encouraged his love of music. His passion for opera was also apparent, and he participated in local talent contests and won several prizes. At the age of twelve, however, Bocelli was completely blinded during a soccer game. Undeterred, he continued to sing, learning to read special Braille sheets and musical scores. It was only after he earned his law degree that he was inspired to attempt to join the ranks of the great tenors. Bocelli's persistence and devotion paid off during an audition in 1992 when he stunned Pavarotti with the seemingly effortless way he captured the essence of the song "Miserere." It was this performance that fueled Bocelli's rise from piano-bar performer to the phenomenal international success we all adore today. No fan of classical music can afford to be without the engaging and humble memoir of this fascinating, triumphant star.
My Brief History by Stephen Hawking
Call Number: 530.092 HAWKING BIOGRAPHY
Stephen Hawking has dazzled readers worldwide with a string of bestsellers exploring the mysteries of the universe. Now, for the first time, perhaps the most brilliant cosmologist of our age turns his gaze inward for a revealing look at his own life and intellectual evolution. My Brief History recounts Stephen Hawking's improbable journey, from his postwar London boyhood to his years of international acclaim and celebrity. Lavishly illustrated with rarely seen photographs, this concise, witty, and candid account introduces readers to a Hawking rarely glimpsed in previous books: the inquisitive schoolboy whose classmates nicknamed him Einstein; the jokester who once placed a bet with a colleague over the existence of a particular black hole; and the young husband and father struggling to gain a foothold in the world of physics and cosmology. Writing with characteristic humility and humor, Hawking opens up about the challenges that confronted him following his diagnosis of ALS at age twenty-one. Tracing his development as a thinker, he explains how the prospect of an early death urged him onward through numerous intellectual breakthroughs, and talks about the genesis of his masterpiece A Brief History of Time--one of the iconic books of the twentieth century. Clear-eyed, intimate, and wise, My Brief History opens a window for the rest of us into Hawking's personal cosmos.
Still Me by Christopher Reeve
Call Number: 791.43028 REEVE BIOGRAPHY
The book tells of Reeve's experiences of making the Superman films and about his horseback riding accident which resulted in his quadriplegia and its effects on his life.
The Story of My Life by Helen Keller
Call Number: 362.41092 KELLER BIOGRAPHY
The personal recollections and correspondence of Helen Keller, supplemented by the reports of her teacher Annie Sullivan, reveal the problems and obstacles that she surmounted in overcoming her handicaps.