Skip to main content

Art House Films & More

A guide to films that express social realism or escapism; and a guide to culturally important films that may reveal a character's thoughts, dreams, or motivations.

Image from I Walked with a Zombie from buzzfeed.com at https://www.buzzfeed.com/staceygrant91/11-must-watch-horror-films-from-the-1940s-xpfm?sub=3473240_3994161

Horror By Theme

Image from Mandy from chairgatin.com at https://chairgatin.com/review/mandy-movie-review/

Image from The Innocents from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2016/02/17/the-innocents/

Image from Neon Demon from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2016/11/25/the-neon-demon/#

Image from The Love Witch from http://theseventhart.org/ at http://theseventhart.org/anna-biller-interview-the-love-witch/

Image from Only Lovers Left Alive from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2014/07/23/only-lovers-left-alive/

Image from I Walked with a Zombie from thinkolio.org at https://www.thinkolio.org/olios/all-consuming-history-zombies-and-anxiety-american-culture/

Horror By Directors

Image from Us from giphy.com at https://gph.is/2Q1jSk9

Image from Psycho from giphy.com at https://gph.is/XK4dc4

Which Alfred Hitchcock horror flick is your favorite?
Psycho: 6 votes (66.67%)
Rear Window: 1 votes (11.11%)
The Birds: 2 votes (22.22%)
Total Votes: 9

Image from Inferno from nightflight.com/ at http://nightflight.com/dario-argentos-surreal-supernatural-inferno-was-the-second-film-in-his-three-mothers-trilogy/

 

Images from The Devil's Backbone from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2015/06/18/the-devils-backbone/

 

 

Images from Cronos from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2015/05/21/cronos/#

Image from The Shining from imgur.com at https://imgur.com/gallery/aQcpU 

                        

 Image from A Clockwork Orange from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/                         Image from The Shining from ascmag.com at https://ascmag.com/articles/flashback-the-shining   2010/07/07/a-clockwork-orange/       

                                                                                                                            

Image from Antichrist from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2012/11/29/antichrist/

Image from A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night from variety.com at https://variety.com/2014/film/markets-festivals/sundance-film-review-a-girl-walks-home-alone-at-night-1201069599/

Image from Antichrist from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2012/11/29/antichrist/

Image from The Void from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2019/04/13/the-void/#

Image from Neon Demon from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2016/11/25/the-neon-demon/#

Image from Antiviral from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2014/01/07/antiviral/#jp-carousel-30632

Image from The Witch from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2016/10/07/the-witch/#

Image from Un Chien Andalou from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2016/02/03/un-chien-andalou/#

Image from Hour of the Wolf from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2015/03/23/hour-of-the-wolf/#

Image from Rebecca from film-grab.com at https://film-grab.com/2018/10/10/rebecca/#

Horror Films