Ask
Search
Search
Account
Printing
Locations
Menu
Sunday, April 28, 2024

Services

Services  /  For ...  /  Services for Children

Staff

Crescencia Huff

Cresencia Huff
Coordinator, Children's Services

See All Posts

Services for Children

children with stuffed animals

 

News & Announcements

Birtle and the Purple Turtles

Only turtles live in Turtletown, right?

Birtle and the Purple Turtles by Tara J. Hannon Teeny and Tootie become fast friends when Teeny falls out of a tree and lands on Tootie in Birtle and the Purple Turtles a graphic novel by Tara J. Hannon. They live in Turtletown and do all the fun turtle activities, but strange things start happening to Teeny, and he starts questioning everything. Only turtles live in Turtletown, right?
Print
Categories: Kids
Tags:
Rate this article:
4.0

Read-along devices by manufacturers VOX and Wonderbook are now available for select children’s titles in the San Antonio Public Library collection. Read-alongs pair an audiobook player with print books to provide audio narration in an easy-to-use, accessible, all-in-one device.

The new read-alongs are directly attached to the printed book so no need for Wi-Fi or a mobile device. The books come with instructions in English and Spanish, and controls are simple enough that readers can start listening almost instantly. Borrow one from the read-along shelf in the children’s sections at any SAPL location to get started. The devices can be used with or without headphones and select titles are available in English and Spanish.

Check Out Our Read-Alongs

Frequently Asked Questions

Collapse All Expand All
Click here to expand contentClick here to collapse content  What is a read-along?

Read-alongs are books with audio narration built directly into a print book.

Click here to expand contentClick here to collapse content  

How do I use a read-along?

Read-alongs are as simple as pushing a button, and each device includes detailed instructions inside the book cover. Below are resources from the companies that make the read-alongs if you need help getting started:

How to use Wonderbook / Cómo utilizar Wonderbook

How to use VOX Books

Click here to expand contentClick here to collapse content  What types of read-along titles are available at San Antonio Public Library?

Each San Antonio Public Library location has about 75 children’s read-along titles.

Click here to expand contentClick here to collapse content  Does my child need Wi-Fi to use a read-along?

The audio player is built directly into the print book meaning no Wi-Fi or internet access is necessary.

Click here to expand contentClick here to collapse content  Are headphones required to use a read-along?

Headphones are not required to use a read along. The built-in device can be used with or without headphones. Library locations do not provide headphones.

Click here to expand contentClick here to collapse content  How are read-alongs helpful?

Read-alongs provide children with an opportunity to independently read during early literacy development. Additionally, with titles available in English and Spanish, children learning how to read in either of these languages can have the added assistance of hearing words out loud even if they or their parents aren’t native speakers of that language.

Click here to expand contentClick here to collapse content  Will I need to charge read-alongs?

Read-alongs will be fully charged when you check them out and can be played many times before needing to be charged again. The Library does not provide chargers with read-alongs.

Click here to expand contentClick here to collapse content  Can I place a hold or renew read-alongs?

Read-alongs are subject to the same policies as other items in the Library collection. Holds and renewals are allowed if the item is not on hold for someone else.

Click here to expand contentClick here to collapse content  Where can I find a read-along book at San Antonio Public Library?

You can check out read-alongs at any San Antonio Public Library location by visiting the read-along shelf in the children’s area. You can also search our catalog to find read-along titles available in our collection. Read-alongs are listed in the catalog as “juvenile read-along" or “book plus audio.” See the examples below.

 

mySAPL Kids Reading Lists

Book Awards, Medals, & Lists

  • Children's Award Books - Within the last 100 years or so, various organizations have chosen to honor outstanding books written for young people. Each award highlights the finest book within a particular category or which reflects a particular theme. Most are awarded annually.
  • Recommendations for Children 0-5 Years Old - Read, talk, sing, write, and play every day.
  • Book Picks for Kids - Seasonal selections for children ages 3-12.
  • All Things Tween - Book recommendations, activities, and inspiration tweens (ages 9-12) will love.

Effective June 12, 2023, to reduce potential exposure to allergens, choking hazards, and illness, SAPL requests any eating during programs designed for children 0-5 years old take place away from the main activity area.

Events

Databases

  • Biography in Context - This database integrates biographies from Gale Group sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to hand-picked web sites. Search for people -- both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor -- based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.
  • Explora for Elementary School - Explora for Elementary School is designed especially for youth in grades K-5 and serves as an interface for searching across multiple databases.
  • Kids Health - KidsHealth provides doctor-approved health information about children from before birth through adolescence. KidsHealth was created by The Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media and provides separate sites for parents, kids and teens.
  • Learning Express Library - Reading skills improvement and practice tests for elementary and middle school level students.
  • Literature Resource Center - The LRC search interface provides access to more than 371,000 full text journal articles from more than 230 literary journals.
  • Live Homework Help - Free tutoring in a safe online environment by certified subject specialists. Subjects covered include: math, science, social studies and English. SAT preparation, skills review and help with essay writing is also provided. Tutors are available for students of all ages from kindergarten through adult learners. Spanish-speaking tutors are also available.
  • NoveList - NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles.

 

Guides

  • 2X2 List - The 2x2 List is a list of books appropriate for children 2-years old through 2nd Grade.
  • Batchelder Medal - The Batchelder Medal is awarded for a the most outstanding children's book translated into English for young American readers.
  • Belpré Award - Presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best celebrates the Latino experience in an outstanding work of literature for youth.
  • Black History for Children - Recommended reading from the Juvenile Collections to support understanding and appreciation of Black History.
  • Bluebonnet Award - The children's choice award of Texas. Designed for grades three through six.
  • Caldecott Medal - Presented annually since 1938, the Caldecott Medal is presented to the illustrator of the most distinguished picture book published in the previous year. The award is named in honor of the nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph J. Caldecott.
  • Children's Summer Reading
  • Coretta Scott King Award - Presented annually to honor African-American authors and illustrators who create outstanding books for children and young adults.
  • Geisel Award - The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in the United States during the preceding year. The award is named for beloved children's author, Dr. Seuss.
  • LEGO Days @ the Library - LEGO books and more.
  • Little Read Wagon - Prepare your child for success in reading, school and life with these resources from Little Read Wagon, San Antonio Public Library's early literacy program.
  • Music and More Early Literacy Moves - Resources to support increased music and movement experiences to build early literacy skills.
  • Newbery Medal - The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It has been awarded annually since 1922 to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  • Orbis Pictus Award - The Orbis Pictus Award recognizes outstanding nonfiction for children.
  • Resources for Early Childhood Professionals - Do you need training hours? Ideas for your classroom? A way to connect with other teachers? If you work with children ages five and younger, this resource guide is for you.
  • Rivera Award - The Tomás Rivera Mexican American Children's Book Award is sponsored by the College of Education, Texas State University.
  • Sibert Medal - First presented in 2001, the Sibert Medal goes to the author and illustrator of the most distinguished informational book for children published in English during the preceding year. The award is named after Robert F. Sibert of Bound to Stay Bound Books.
  • Smart Arts: Enhancing early literacy through creativity - Resources to support early literacy and creative opportunities in early childhood settings.
  • STEM Early Childhood Resources - Use these resources to begin your exploration of math and science as a support for early literacy development.
  • Young Pegasus Poetry Competition - San Antonio's annual poetry contest for children and teens.
Live Homework Help