The resources listed below are provided to help individuals and their families become better-informed about mental health issues.
Adult Mental Health Resources
DBSA - Depression Bipolar Support Alliance
Marked by changes in mood, depression and bipolar disorder (also known as manic depression) are both highly treatable medical illnesses. Unfortunately, many people don't get the help they need because of the misunderstanding surrounding the illnesses or the fear associated with stigma. dbsalliance.org includes brief descriptions of depression and bipolar disorder as well as more in-depth information.
Help Starts Here
Mental illness and severe emotional stress affect millions of Americans, and far too often, many problems go untreated. They don’t have to – because help starts here with information about a variety of mental illnesses.https://www.helpstartshere.org/ is sponsored by the National Association of Social Workers.
National Institute for Mental Health (NIMH)
The NIMH publications webpage provides access to a broad array of publications that relate to the treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
NIDA brings the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction by providing strategic support and conducting research across a broad range of disciplines to significantly improve prevention, treatment and policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
nami.org provides information about mental illnesses, medications, NAMI programs, and support. The site includes a search feature to find your local NAMI affiliate.
National Empowerment Center
The mission of the National Empowerment Center Inc. is to carry a message of recovery, empowerment, hope and healing to people who have been labeled with mental illness. We carry that message with authority because we are a consumer/survivor/expatient-run organization and each of us is living a personal journey of recovery and empowerment.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration (SAMHSA) ADS Center
The ADS Center helps to promote acceptance, dignity, and social inclusion.
Resources for Children and Adolescents with Behavior and Emotional Disturbances
Help Starts Here
helpstartshere.org provides basic information in the following categories: Kids & Families, Mind & Spirit, Health & Wellness, Seniors & Aging, and Issues & Answers. The site provides definitions, personal stories, professional advice, and recent articles on related topics. If desired, it can connect you with a social work resource in your community. The website is sponsored by the National Association of Social Workers.
Mayo Clinic
Clinical experts provide current medical information and news on health topics such as diseases and conditions, symptoms checker, drugs and supplements, and tests and procedures at mayoclinic.com.
New York University Child Study Center
The NYU Child Study Center site provides numerous links for families and professionals are available, including condition-specific handouts and fact sheets.
Oasis @ MAAP
aspergersyndrome.org addresses developmental and childhood disorders. Asperger Syndrome, Autism, and Pervasive Developmental Disorder / Not Otherwise Specified (PDD/NOS). This site provides articles, educational resources, links to local, national and international support groups, sources of professional help, lists of camps and schools, conference information, recommended reading, and moderated support message boards.
Psychotropic Medication Utilization Parameters for Foster Children
In February of 2005, the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS), the Department of State Health Services (DSHS), and the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) released a "best practices" guide to ensure the proper use of psychotropic medications for the children in foster care.
The Reach Institute
This site provides an overview of psychiatric medications used for children and adolescents.
Via HOPE
The Via HOPE site provides information about childhood mental health disorders and illnesses, their causes, as well as diagnostic criteria.
