Texana/Genealogy HomePage
Need Help with Research? We may be able to assist patrons with some of their questions. The best method to reach us is by email. You can contact us directly at Genealogydesk@sanantonio.gov or just ask a Librarian! You can also contact us at 210-207-2559 or 210-207-2500. Note: You may be referred back to the email if research is required. Some research may take up to 24-48hrs. You will be notified whether we are able to assist or not.
South Texas Researcher- The South Texas Researcher is published monthly by the staff of the San Antonio Public Library, Texana/Genealogy Department. Please subscribe to keep up with monthly classes, collection highlights, and new acquisitions.
Upcoming Programs- We try to mirror programs on both the SAPL Events page and the Texana home page. However, both events calendars are a great way to view upcoming programs for our department. Every month Texana/Genealogy will host programs that are instructed by Texana/Genealogy staff, both online and in person.
Overview
Do you have a library card with SAPL? If so, Have you visited the library database? SAPL offers free database resources for patrons to research their ancestors, and more! This does not mean you can't have your own subscription to Ancestry.com, but you will not have a monthly fee when you use SAPL resources! With the exception of Ancestry Library, patrons can view these materials in the comforts of their home. These resources are also available at any of their 29 branches. The difference, when patrons come to Central Library they will have one on one help to get them started with their research. SAPL's Texana/Genealogy staff will walk you through how it works and will provide some assistance, but patrons will do the work on their ancestry! Click here to view Texana/Genealogy upcoming programs.
SAPL Databases
Access Newspaper Archive: Tens of millions of searchable, browsable and viewable pages of newspapers from around the world -- some from as far back as the 1700s. **Can view from Home with SAPL Card**
NewsBank-San Antonio Express-News Collection (with Digital Archive): for current newspapers. **Access from home with SAPL Card**
Ancestry Library (In Library Use Only): This collection of more than 4,000 databases and two billion names is essential to having a broad genealogy collection, and its valuable content is a strong complement to HeritageQuest™ Online. Any SAPL Library will grant you access to this database. However, come to Central library for assistance with our Texana/Genealogy staff if you need it!
Fold3: The Fold3 collections feature documents, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, US Presidents, historical newspapers, naturalization documents, and many more. Fold3 is a place where original historical documents are combined with social networking in order to create a truly unique experience involving the stories of our past. **Can view from Home with SAPL Card**
Note: For Military Records research tips click Here!
Handbook of Texas: The New Handbook of Texas is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture. **Can view from Home with SAPL Card**
HeritageHub: Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. Heritage Hub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. **Can view from Home with SAPL Card**
Think of your DD214 as your report card and key document align veteran to eligible benefits!
The DD Form 214 is a key military service document, as it represents a servicemember’s complete and verified military service record (Active and Reserve), awards and medals, and other pertinent service information, such as highest rank/rate and pay grade held on active duty, total military combat service and/or overseas and Military Occupational Specialty (MOS) / Area of Concentration (AOC). The DD Form 214 is issued to Soldiers who are released from active duty (90 or more days) or awarded an MOS/AOC and processed through a transition point; the DD Form 215 is issued to correct administrative data on previously issued DD Forms 214.
Who will need this document?
How is it useful in genealogy?
Note: For questions or concerns regarding the veterans DD214 Veterans Affairs (VA) at 800-698-2411 or click here!
Note: For more information on how military records can be useful for genealogy, click here!
FindaGrave: World’s largest gravesite collection (Over 250 million memorials created by the community since 1995). This website will help you track down gravesites related to your ancestors. You can use this website to retrieve place of burial, date of death, date of birth, and other information related to ancestor (i.e. spouse, children). Sometimes you are able to view picture of grave stones, loved ones, and obituaries.
Note: This website will not link you to relatives who were Cremated.
Note: SAPL's Ancestry Library will link you to FindaGrave as well.
National Cemetery Administration- Nation Wide Gravesite Locator (NGL): Provided by the VA, This website will help locate service members buried in National Cemeteries.
Note: Ancestry Library and FindaGrave may also provide details of buried service members.
Note: For more information on San Antonio Cemeteries, Click Here!
Family Search: Search billions of ancestor profiles, photographs, and historical documents at once—absolutely FREE. This website can be accessed from home. All you will need to do is create an account!
Note: If you build a tree, other people will be able to add to your tree. Therefore, it is your responsibility to do your research and determine whether that addition to your tree is really your ancestor.
Family Search- Search you Surname: Your surname can unlock discoveries about your heritage.
Note: You will still need to create a free Family Search account.
San Antonio Vital Records Index: This Index provides patrons with the resource to look up family Birth or Death Dates who have died in San Antonio, Texas. Select the desired field and You will need to go Day-by-Day when selecting the date. It is best if you have a month and year to start. The information placed in the index is the exact information that vital records will show in their system.
Note: This process will take some time. The more information you have the better!
Note: you can also visit your local library and go to the ancestry Library database to view Birth and Death Index.
Note: If you seek Birth or Death Cert for an ancestor that was born/died in Bexar County, vital records may require to have the full names of the ancestor parents. If you need assistance for Texana/Genealogy, please email us at Genealogydesk@Sanantonio.gov or just ask a librarian! You will need to provide us as much information on the ancestor as possible.
Note: Mothers maiden name may be found:
REAL PROPERTY/LAND RECORDS: The Bexar County Clerk’s Office Recordings Division files, records, and maintains Real Property Records, Personal Property Records, Notice of Trustee Sales, Military Discharges, and Public Notices. The records to which access is not otherwise restricted by law or by court order are made available through Public Records Search.
Patrons can research the following:
Note: For more information regarding House History research, Click Here
The Ancestry Library database can be access from any SAPL library for free. This resource provides many avenues of research. However, you will need to do some research on your own to determine if you are following the right ancestor. It is best practice to have full names, dates, and places lived of your ancestor. It is always a good idea to speak to family members and listen to stories. The information you retrieve will help you follow the right ancestor. you would be surprised to know how many "like named" individuals you will encounter. therefore, the more information you have the better!
The Official Military Personnel File (OMPF) is primarily an administrative record, containing information about the subject's service history such as: date and type of enlistment/appointment; duty stations and assignments; training, qualifications, performance; awards and decorations received; disciplinary actions; insurance; emergency data; administrative remarks; date and type of separation/discharge/retirement (including DD Form 214, Report of Separation, or equivalent); and other personnel actions. Detailed information about the veteran's participation in battles and their military engagements is NOT contained in the record.
The San Antonio Public Library has basic equipment available for patrons to utilize at the library for digitizing personal archival collections. Located in the Texana/Genealogy Department at the Central Library, the Memory Lab tools can digitize multiple formats of material, including:
• Audio cassettes
• DVDs
• Negative and slides (35mm)
• Photographic prints and documents (up to 8.5x11”)
• VHS and VHS-C
The Memory Lab tools are not professional quality equipment that you would get with a commercial vendor service. Our equipment is intended for personal digital archiving and must be used in the Library. Staff is available to answer questions and will setup the equipment to help get patrons started, but the goal of the activity is that is a DIY self-serve process.
Note: To find out more information regarding the Memory lab, please click here!
Note: The memory Lab is accessed by appointment only. Please email us directly at GenealogyDesk@SanAntonio.gov or click here!
Museums are often overlooked for researching unit information. Museums may not be able to provide records relating a service member to a unit, but you never know! Like special collection libraries, museums receive donor material from the community. For example, this may occur when a family member dies and his/her family run into documents, records, or a box full of military memorabilia they don't know what to do with or do not want them to disappear! There may be mention of your ancestor, and/or a piece of unit history that that mention your ancestor (i.e. ship rosters, orders, personal journals, photographs, etc.).
Most military museums will have research department that can be reached by email or phone. It is best to provide as much information about your ancestor as possible. (i.e. full name, military branch served, service number, unit, war/conflict, etc.) If a museum cannot locate information regarding your ancestor, they may refer you to another institution that may assist you, or they point you in the direction of the National Archives to retrieve some documentation. Some museums may offer family members a chance to honor your ancestor at their museum. For example, The National WWII Museum, located in New Orleans, has an Honor Brick service to honor WWII veterans (Proof of service may be required). Others may have something similar!
This tab provides a glimpse into what it takes to research Native American genealogy. There is much more information provided in the Native American Libguide. This guide contains information on individual Native American Tribal leadership, readings, societies, and more. Click here to view the libguide! https://guides.mysapl.org/naresearch
Dawes Rolls: Lists people accepted between 1898 and 1914 by Dawes Commission as members of these Five Tribes:
Native American DNA with Roberta Estes : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjs_Aq4GGmc
Clayton Library Presents: Native Americans and First Nations Researching: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j1_eKEynlg
American Indian Correspondence: https://digital.history.pcusa.org/islandora/object/islandora:rg224
Ancestry Library (Library Only): Texas, U.S., Roman Catholic Archdiocese of San Antonio Sacramental Records, 1700-1996.
District court records may include civil, criminal, and juvenile cases. The civil realm can hear matters of name changes, protective orders, and juvenile guardianship. The following 5-civilized tribe district court records are from the holdings of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and are found on their FamilySearch.org website. You might also find district court records online by searching under the county name and “district court."
The importance of oral histories (audio or video) and story telling is crucial for historians and family members to understand current events, times, places, names, dates, etc. of that era/place in time. Simple conversation sparked from reminiscing about old photographs, scrapbooks, family bibles, or newspaper clippings could spark up a story from our family members and it is our job to listen and ask questions.
Stories are what drives us to want to know more about past hardships our ancestors faced and what it took to get to where we are now. What were the battles fought overseas, or at home? What were the roles that our families played while a member of the family was at war? Where did our ancestors grow up before the war? What did "post war" look like in the community?
You can ask anyone who ever served overseas in a war conflict, and they will tell you that there is nothing glorious about war. Nor could you compare one war to another. Every war is different for they express their own victories and difficulties. However, we should strive to hear it from those who have lived it and from those who still bear the marks of it (i.e. physically, emotionally).
Display Room Tour of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier Exhibit at Arlington National Cemetery
Changing of the Guard: Tomb of the Unknown Soldier (With Historical Facts)
The Story of Black Rosies and Their Pioneering Role in WWII | Ancestral Findings Podcast
Women who inspired "Rosie the Riveter" receive Congressional Gold Medal
